Ardnamurchan High School enjoys reinstated in-person celebration of success

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

Ardnamurchan High School pupils, staff and parents were finally able to get together again at a face-to-face Celebration of Success at the end of last month.

On arrival, guests were welcomed with music performed by Alice Munro on the clarsach and by Jack Bungey on piano.

Head teacher Christopher Millar-Craig welcomed everyone back to the annual ceremony and highlighted the challenges which have faced schools throughout the pandemic.

Music was provided by the S3 music class, playing Pachelbel’s Canon; the school’s vocal group performing Riptide; the Gaelic Medium Folk Group, performing ‘Ti an Airm’ and Ceolmhor performing ‘Fagail Liosmore’.

The talent of all the young people was much appreciated. The usual humorous review of the year, impeccably delivered by new school captains Isbhel Macintyre and Isabella Sutherland, drew huge applause from the audience.

The school’s top nomination awards for each year group went to: S1 and overall school winners – Rebecca Jones and Colla MacDonald; S2 – Maggie MacAskill and Matilda Van de Peer; S3 – Terra Grier and Ailsa MacGillivray; S4 – Isla Crosbie; S5 – Archie Kennedy, Maisie Gregg, Arwen Merritt and Joseph Tait and S6- Christina French-Hilder.

Special awards: Iain Cameron Rural Excellence Award – Megan MacDonald, S5, and Ruaraidh MacAulay, S2; The Hopper Award for Excellence in Computing Science –  Isabella Sutherland, S5; The Sgeulachd Trophy For Enterprise – Ailsa MacGillivray, S3,  and Parker Dawes, S3); Lochaber Housing Association Cup for Academic Achievement,  based on SQA achievement 2021 – Dugald Macintyre, S6 in 2021; Rotary Club of Lochaber Prize for Endeavour – Terra Grier, S3; Ewen Gillespie Award – Esme Tilling, S6, and Hamish Kennedy, S6.

The involvement of Ardnamurchan High School pupils in wider achievement was also recognised and praised and the event closed with excerpts of their extraordinary success at Film G.

Christopher Millar-Craig added: ‘This year has been about recovering our norms in education but, as we all know, we are not back to ‘normal’ and it has not been a ‘normal year’ for our young people, staff or parents.

‘However, gradually we have been able to bring back more and more opportunities
with, for example, our summer dance in place of the suspended Christmas dance; our S6 graduation dinner, sports day and this celebration of success.

‘It has been a real pleasure to welcome back parents and partners. My thanks go to all staff, parents, pupils and partners in working together to get us back to where we are now.’