MacPherson Cup win for Oban school of shinty players

The OHS MacPherson Cup winning squad.

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

Oban High School has won the MacPherson Cup for the first time in a decade.

The victorious players are the first youngsters from the School of Shinty programme to come through from the junior ranks.

The cup competition took place in Fort William. It was a full day and the boys were exemplary in representing Oban High School under the leadership of Stephen Campbell, Lorne Robertson and Shinty Development officer Les Kinvig.

Oban started with a tough match against Lochaber, winning 2-1, followed by victories over Dunoon 1-0, Inverness Royal Academy 5-0 and Charleston 4-0 and draws against Kingussie 0-0 and Portree 0-0.

The final was a repeat of the first round-robin match with Oban High School facing Lochaber again. Oban won 1-0 with the winning goal scored by Kyle MacFarlane.

This was a fantastic achievement by all the players and coaches, with the team only conceding one goal throughout the day.

‘We look forward to many more successful matches and competitions with these players,’ said an Oban High School spokesperson.

Photograph: The Oban High School MacPherson Cup winning squad. NO_T26_OHSShinty_MacPherson Cup