New Caol Community Council office-bearers elected unopposed at AGM

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

Caol Community Council held its AGM recently when council office-bearers were elected.

These were as follows: chairman, John Gillespie; secretary, Colin Strange; treasurer, Kirsty Kyle.

In the annual chairperson’s report, Mr Gillespie praised the contributions of previous councillors for the Caol and Mallaig ward on Highland Council – Allan Henderson, Denis Rixson and Ben Thompson – who all retired ahead of May’s local authority elections.

‘I would like to start my report this year with a heartfelt thanks to our retiring councillors, Allan Henderson and Denis Rixson, and also to Ben Thompson who left to take up another job a few months ago,’ said Mr Gillespie.

‘All three have been regular attendees to our community council, and their assistance and support will be a loss to both our community council, and our community as a whole.

‘Their new replacements will have some big shoes to fill, and I look forward to working with our new councillors going forward.’