The Highland Council election coverage – Baxter misses out on Cromarty Firth seat

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

Former Lochaber Area Committee leader, Andrew Baxter, was unsuccessful in his bid to get elected as a Conservative councillor for the Cromarty Firth ward in today’s Scottish council elections, after choosing to not seek re-election for Fort William and Ardnamurchan (Ward 21).

Andrew Baxter
NO F40 Andrew-Baxter

There was a 39.6 percent voter turn-out in the Highland Council ward, with 3,928 votes cast. The four councillors elected were Tamala Collier (SNP), Maxine Morley-Smith (Independent), Pauline Munro (Independent) and Molly Nolan (Lib Dem).