List of Argyll’s council election candidates revealed

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

The full list of candidates standing for election to Argyll and Bute Council has now been published.

The Notice of Poll for the Scottish Local Government Elections on May 5, 2022, can be found on the council’s website,

In Argyll and Bute, people will elect 36 councillors to represent the area’s 11 council wards.

Only those who are registered to vote can take part in these elections – so, if you want to have your say in who represents your community, make sure you have registered before the deadline of April 18, 2022. It only takes five minutes and you can do it online at

Since 2007, councillors in Scotland have been elected using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system. This allows voters to express a preference for more than one candidate by ranking them in order.

Information about how to mark your vote is provided on your polling card, in your postal voting pack and within polling stations.

This does not tell you who to vote for, but shows you how to mark your choices correctly on your ballot paper on the day or on your postal vote.

Votes for all Argyll and Bute Council wards will be counted the day after polling day, on Friday May 6, 2022, and the results will be published online as soon as they are available.

Find the list of candidates and more information about the council elections in Argyll and Bute, plus the updated list of polling stations, on Argyll and Bute Council’s website.

Here is the list of candidates and number of councillors to be elected, in brackets, for The Oban Times area.

Ward 1: South Kintyre (3)

John Armour, Scottish National Party (SNP), Campbeltown
Rory Colville, Scottish Liberal Democrats, Campbeltown
Donald Kelly, Independent, Campbeltown
Tommy Macpherson, Scottish Conservative and Unionist, Saddell

Ward 2: Kintyre and the Islands (3)

Robin Currie, Scottish Liberal Democrats, Bruichladdich, Isle of Islay
Jane B Kelly, Scottish Labour Party, Tarbert
John McAlpine, Independent, Tarbert
Dougie McFadzean, Scottish National Party (SNP), Bowmore, Isle of Islay
Alec McNeilly, Scottish Conservative and Unionist, Lochgilphead
Alastair John Redman, Independent, Port Charlotte, Isle of Islay

Ward 3: Mid Argyll (3)

Abisola Adepetun, Independent, Ardrishaig
David Barton, Scottish Liberal Democrats, Inverarary
Jan Brown, Scottish National Party (SNP), Lochgilphead
Lesley Burt, Scottish Labour Party, Rothesay, Isle of Bute
Andy Cameron, Independent, Inveraray
Garret Corner, Scottish Conservative and Unionist, Lochgilphead
Donnie MacMillan, Independent, Lochgilphead
Douglas Trevor Philand, Independent, Lochgilphead
Ross Alistair Weir, Independence for Scotland Party, Ardrishaig

Ward 4: Oban South and The Isles (4)

Gopi Ageer, Scottish Labour Party, Rothesay, Isle of Bute
Henry Drummond Boswell, Scottish Liberal Democrats, Inveraray
Donnie Campbell, Independent, Kilmoluaig, Isle of Tiree
Amanda Hampsey, Scottish Conservative and Unionist, Lochgilphead
Willie Hume, Scottish National Party (SNP), Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Andrew Kain, Independent, Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Colin Kennedy, Independent, Isle of Coll
Jim Lynch, Scottish National Party (SNP), Oban
Jamie McGrigor, Independent, Dalmally
Phyl Stuart Meyer, Scottish Greens, Isle of Tiree
John Watson, Independent, Oban

Ward 5: Oban North and Lorn (4)

Linda Battison, Independent, Oban
Kyle Campbell-Renton, Independent, Inveraray
Veronica Davis, Scottish Liberal Democrats, Inveraray
Angus Files, Alba Party, Kingarth, Isle of Bute
Kieron Green, Independent, Oban
Luna Martin, Scottish Greens, Oban
Julie McKenzie, Scottish National Party (SNP), Oban
Andrew Vennard, Scottish Conservative and Unionist, Lochgilphead