Two Lochaber community councils reform, but Kinlochleven fails again

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

Following the close of nominations on February 1, the following two Lochaber community councils have now formed uncontested – Acharacle and also Spean Bridge, Roy Bridge and Achnacarry.

On Skye, Staffin Community Council has reformed. However, despite a second attempt at reforming, Kinlochleven Community Council again failed to attract half the maximum membership required.

The councillors for Spean Bridge, Roy Bridge and Achnacarry are – Christine Clephan, John Fotheringham, Jennifer Hastings, Judith James-Davies, Ian Langley, Ian Matheson and Alison Munro.

At Acharacle, the single person required for the community council to reform saw the vacancy filled by Roy Cattle.