A time to dance for high school pupils

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

More than 50 pupils from Lochaber High School took part in this year’s scaled down Dance Platform event.

Over the past two terms groups of pupils have been choreographing and practising their routines at lunchtimes with Miss Currie running an after-school dance class for
pupils on a Monday night.

Seven senior pupils have also been involved in choreographing and teaching year group dance.

Robyn Wallwork chose Jumpin’ Jumpin’ for the S1 dance, Erica Lloyd and Zoe Sinclair choreographed the S2 dance to Cry Baby, whilst Alicia Murray, Eilidh Thomson and Caitlin Fraser took on the S3 group, dancing to Greedy.

Meanwhile, Mya Clark worked with senior pupils on their song Boy.

A high school spokesperson said: ‘All the dance leaders did a fantastic job, and it’s great to see our more experienced pupils volunteering to pass on their skills to the younger year groups.’

Pupils who train with Vicky Horn Dance, Feis Lochaber Step Dancers and Jane Douglas School of Dance also performed at the event, adding different styles of dance and choreography to the final performance.

‘A huge thanks to everyone who helped and danced at the event and a special mention to Bill Cameron for once again doing the lighting for the show and to Bridget Thomas, active schools co-ordinator, for bringing the show together,’ added the spokesperson.

‘Hopefully it will be possible to involve the primary schools and perform in front of an audience once again next year.’