Surfers on crest of a wave as Classic returns to Tiree

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

Scotland’s top wave sailing and windsurfing event returned to the island of Tiree last week with 70 hardy surfers taking full advantage of the autumnal conditions at Balephuil and Gott Bay Beach.

Following last year’s cancellation, the event was stripped back to an exclusively outdoor ‘hardcore’ windsurfing competition as opposed to a festival format to make it as covid proofed as possible.

Three days of competition took place on Sunday October 10, Wednesday October 13 and Thursday October 14.

Event manager William Maclean said: ‘After the hiccup of 2020 due to the Covid 19 pandemic, it was great to be back at the beach and watching the best in the business showing us all how it was done.

‘A basic, stripped back event for this year allows for continuity of the Wave Classic event but we hope to return it to its full glory in 2022 if the global pandemic allows.’

Organised by Wild Diamond Water Sports, the Tiree Wave Classic, founded in 1985, is the longest running professional windsurfing event in the world. It showcases the best of the UK’s windsurfing talent across a number of fleets ranging from juniors to world cup professional windsurfers.

2021 Tiree Wave Classic results

Pro Men: 1 Phill Horrocks; 2 Andy Chambers; 3 Lucas Meldrum.

Pro Women: 1 Marine Hunter; 2 Pauline Katz; 3 Liath Campbell.

Amateurs: 1 Jack Pettit; 2 Ruaridh Somerville; 3 Nick Walsh.

Masters: 1 Tim Watson; 2 Grahame Pettit; 3 Jo McIvor.

Organisers hope for a return to the full format next October.

Main photograph (NO_T34_2021TireeWaveClassic4): Marine Hunter – Ladies Pro fleet winner. Photograph by Richard Whitson.