Lochaber Rugby Club announces new committee

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Banavie-based Lochaber Rugby Club held its annual general meeting (AGM) last Thursday, September 30, bringing members face-to-face to discuss the last 12 months of activity on and off the pitch.

It was an engaging meeting with new directors, committee members and other role holders voted into their positions by a spirited group of members that heard the impact of challenges faced by the Covid-19 pandemic and the opportunities taken by the club to ensure the clubhouse, health and safety matters and plans for the future of rugby were addressed and put into place.

Highlights of the last 12 months included the re-wiring and safety testing of the clubhouse, improved bar and payment systems and the introduction of a ladies team and U18 squad development.

The club has benefited from early success on the field with their U18’s squad
winning home and away plus the senior team showing commitment at home and bagging a big win away from home against Clydesdale RFC, winning 68-5.

A big thank you went to long-standing club stalwarts Donald Young, former president and most recently club secretary, and Gary Hendrie, director of senior rugby, who have stepped down from their positions in the club, their roles being filled by Lorraine Revitt and former club captain Iain MacFarlane.

Charlie Donaldson was re-elected club president and is looking forward to growing the momentum as the 2021/22 rugby season continues.

Charlie said: ‘We are getting back to some kind of normality and everyone has to be thanked for their steadfastness and patience throughout this last year.

‘Thanks go to all of last year’s committee for all of the work that has gone on behind the scenes, mostly unseen, and I can assure all members a huge amount has happened and will continue to be worked in as we move forward.

‘Financially we have survived well, even although we have had no income for about 18
months, thanks to support and key funding awards.

‘As the president, and as a club, we are excited for the forthcoming season and look forward to welcoming new and existing members to the club along with past and present teammates, to enjoy our hospitality and grow Lochaber Rugby Club together.’

The new core club committee and directors are as follows: President – Charlie Donaldson; Secretary – Lorraine Revitt; Treasurer – Donnie MacDonald; Director of Senior Rugby – Iain MacFarlane; Director of Youth Rugby – Stevie McAleer; Club Captain – Callum MacDonald; Vice Captain – Callum Boyd; Fixture Secretary – William Stewart; Social, Press and Marketing – Mark Gibbings; Sponsorship – Dale Monk; Grant Administrator – Kenny Rigg; Membership Secretary – Pauline Donaldson, and Director and Coach – Stewart Sandison.