Dee joins ‘famous five’ of rugby role models

Former Scottish Rugby president Dee Bradbury will join some big names in Scottish Rugby's Hall of Fame.

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

Oban’s doyenne of rugby Dee Bradbury OBE is one of five new inductees to Scottish Rugby’s Hall of Fame.

In its determination to recognise the growing diversity of the game and celebrate the huge role women play in enhancing the sport, this year’s intake includes a quintet of women who have made pioneering and ground-breaking contributions to rugby and the wider society.

The famous five will join Scottish Rugby’s most capped player of all time, Donna Kennedy, who played in a then world-record 115 international matches and who was inducted in 2017.

Dee became the first female president of a tier one rugby union in the world when she began her two-season term as Scottish Rugby’s president in 2018.

A former police officer, Dee took up rugby after she had represented Great Britain at athletics and played representative netball. She helped to establish the women’s section at the Oban Lorne club, where she eventually became club president.

She was first elected to the Scottish Rugby Council as women’s representative and served as Scottish Rugby’s first female vice president from 2016 for two years before her elevation to president. She also represented Scottish Rugby on Rugby Europe. Her sons, Magnus and Fergus, are both rugby players, Magnus having represented Scotland and Edinburgh Rugby in the back-row and Fergus, Scotland under-20 as a prop.

Dee told The Oban Times: ‘I was incredibly honoured to be inducted into Scottish Rugby’s Hall of Fame.

‘To have my name included with international players and people for whom I have so much respect is amazing.

‘I’m told it is hoped there can be a formal induction in person when conditions allow, so I am very much looking forward to that.’

Inducted alongside Dee were players Vicky Galbraith, Keri Holdsworth, Kim Littlejohn and coach Ally Ratcliffe.

The Hall of Fame was established in 2010 to celebrate the towering contribution made by Scots to the oval ball game for what is now more than 150 years.

The panel comprises Scottish Rugby Board chairman John Jeffrey who was capped 40 times for his country; Scotland’s all-time points’ record-holder Chris Paterson MBE; Scotland’s 1990 Grand Slam head coach and multi-British and Irish Lions head coach Sir Ian McGeechan; and renowned former BBC Radio Scotland rugby commentator and broadcaster Bill Johnstone.

‘This induction underlines the importance Scottish Rugby places in its strategy through to 2023 – winning, women and wellbeing – in encouraging more women and girls to become involved in rugby,’ said Jeffrey.

‘The latest inductees are truly inspirational role models.’

Scottish Rugby plans to conduct the new inductions during November’s international matches.

The full list of inductees to the Hall of Fame is:

2010 – David Bedell-Sivright; Phil Macpherson; Ned Haig; Ken Scotland; Sandy Carmichael MBE; Andy Irvine MBE; Finlay Calder OBE; Bill McLaren CBE; Gavin Hastings OBE; Sir Ian McGeechan; Jim Telfer MBE; Gordon Brown.

2013 – Mark Morrison; Ian Smith; Hugh McLeod OBE; Ian McLauchlan OBE; Jim Renwick; David Leslie; Gary Armstrong OBE; Chris Paterson MBE; Norman Mair; John Rutherford

2017 – Douglas Elliot; Donna Kennedy; Mark Robertson; James Robson MBE

2020 – Doddie Weir OBE

2021 – Scotland team of 1871; Dee Bradbury OBE; Vicky Galbraith;  Keri Holdsworth; Kim Littlejohn; Ally Ratcliffe.

Photograph: September 28 2017 (T35 Dee Bradbury 01 no)