Plockton Sailing Club Regatta Part II

Commodore Fiona MacKenzie presented all the prize winners with their trophies on the final night.

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?
Subscribe Now

The second week of the Plockton Small Boat Sailing Club Regatta Fortnight began on August 2 in glorious sunshine.

The first race of the afternoon was the Ladies Centreboard Race. Only two boats entered, Imogen Smith and her mother Katherine from Sheffield, for the Achwurrin Rose Bowl. The race was won by Imogen in a Laser, beating her mother Katherine in a Wayfarer.

In the evening, seven boats raced for the second Plockton Trophy Race for Local boats.

Result: 1 Alexander MacKenzie, Eala Bhan; 2 Neil MacRae, Rona; 3 Malcolm MacKenzie, Taeping.

Seven Centreboards also sailed in the fourth Ulluva Cup Race and first Sgeir Bhuidh Cuo Race, which resulted in a first and second for the Smith brothers – no relation to the Smith girls.

Result: 1 James Smith, Inominate; 2 Robin Smith, Conundrum); 3 Andy Hutchinson, D-Zero.

On Tuesday morning three Toppers sailed for the Fossil Trophy over three short races. Result: 1 Calum Hay; 2 Alasdair Stewart; 3 Scott Peters.

On Tuesday, evening five Local Boats sailed for the ex-Commodores Tray. Result: 1 Ian Hay, Seolta; 2 Neil MacRae, Rona; 3 Graham Sharp, Saranna C.

Five centreboards sailed for the fifth Ulluva and second Sgeir Bhuidhe Cup. Result: 1 James Smith; 2 Robin Smith; 3 Imogen Smith.

On Wednesday evening, the fourth and final race for the Plockton Trophy had six starters on a calm, and the first wet, evening . Only three boats finished inside the two and a half hour limit. Result: 1 Malcolm MacKenzie, Taeping; 2 Alexander MacKenzie,  Eala Bhan; 3 Ian Hay, Seolta.

As a result of the four race series, the winner of the Plockton Trophy was Alexander MacKenzie in Eala Bhan, the boat he bought this year from Morag Amos, giving him his fifth trophy this season. He won with four points. Runner-up and winner of the Fred Allen Galleon was Malcolm MacKenzie in Taeping with seven points.

Other results: 3 Ian Hay 8 points; 4 Neil MacRae 12 points; 5 Michael Hay 13 points; 6 Graham Sharp 16 points; 7 Laura Hamilton 19 points.

Also held was the sixth and final Ulluva Cup Race and third Sgeir Bhuidhe Cup. Result: 1 Andy Hutchinson, D-Zero; 2 James Smith, Inominate; 3 Robin Smith, Conundrum.

As a result of six races, the Ulluva Cup was won by James Smith with 14 points. Imogen Smith also had 14 points but James had the most firsts. Guy Smith was third with 16 points.

The result of the three race series for the Sgeir Bhuidh Cup was: 1 James Smith 4 points; 2 Robin Smith 7 points; 3 Imogen Smith 11 points.

On Thursday evening both Local boats and Centreboards sailed together for the race in aid of RNLI. Six Local Boats and five Centreboards took part.

Result: 1 Michael Hay, Nan; 2 Alexander MacKenzie, Conundrum; 3 Andy Hutchinson, Seola.

On Friday, on a wet and windy day, only two boats ventured out for the Fishing Competition. Winner of the most and heaviest catch: Mick Gray, Duirinish. Winner of heaviest single fish: wen Cameron. (a MacKerel)

Top prizewinner was Alexander MacKenzie who bought the Eala Bhan last year and won five trophies. It was a big few weeks for Alexander as his partner Fiona had a son on June 7.

On Saturday, despite all the bad forecasts, the Childrens’ Ragamuffin Race was held on a warm, cloudy morning. Only three boats took part, with three races deciding the overall winner. Result: 1 Alasdair Hay, Nan; 2 Chloe McLaughlin, Taeping; 3 Ben Anderson, Ajax).

After the race, the club’s prizegiving was held outside for the first time, as the usual concert could not be held because of the pandemic.

Commodore Fiona MacKenzie presented the 35 trophies and announced the winner of the Perch Trophy for rowing was won by Kenneth and Neil Macrae in 25 minutes 15 secondss. Kenneth has now been in the winning team for the past eight years.

The Junior Endeavour Trophy went to Alasdair Stewart and the Starminx Starters Cup to Ian Hay.

Fiona also thanked everyone who had made the fortnight such a success.

The annual general meeting is next month. The club is still looking for a Commodore for next year.

• Of the many lovely stories to come from this year’s event a tale relating to the Ragamuffin Race stood out.

Crewing in the Ajax was Alasdair Tindall, aged 7, from Ullinish, Skye. His father Alexander was brought up in Plockton and his grandfather Frank sailed for many years in the regatta.

However his other grandfather, the late Donald Mackinnon from Ullinish, once owned the Ajax and used the boat to ferry sheep to an island. The boat is a Mackenzie boat and when the club heard it was for sale they bought it.

Douglas Hamilton, ex-Plockton shopkeeper, then bought it from the club and fitted it out for sailing. The boat was skippered by Douglas’ grandson Ben and this was Alasdair’s first time in the Ragamuffin. Lovely that he was able to take part in his Skye grandfather’s old boat.

The following day Alasdair’s mother Catherine surprised his father Alexander with a present for his 40th birthday of another Plockton boat, The Seaforth.