Ardnamurchan High celebrates year of success despite lockdown

Pictured from left are prize winners for CoS, Beth Jackson (S1), Nathan Pleming (S5), Mya Carmichael (S2), Alistair Tait (S6), Janie Patterson (S6)). NO F35 pirize winners for CoS - for Main press
Pictured from left are prize winners for CoS, Beth Jackson (S1), Nathan Pleming (S5), Mya Carmichael (S2), Alistair Tait (S6), Janie Patterson (S6)). NO F35 pirize winners for CoS - for Main press

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

Ardnamurchan High School’s annual celebration of success was held virtually on July 2 from the slightly more relaxed environment of head teacher Christopher Millar-Craig’s home.

In his address, he thanked everyone for pulling together and supporting each other, during the recent challenging time – parents for helping children stay on task and engage with the work set by staff; young people for quickly getting on board with working on line and meeting with staff through the G-suite; and staff who worked so hard to change the way of doing things and building on the experience of the school
improvement plan to deliver all aspects of learning and teaching on-line through Google Classroom.

Mr Miller-Craig added: ‘Everyone has played their part to make, I believe, the last three months as successful as they could be’.

And he went on to comment on the moving piece of work put together by Mrs White in the English department and head girl Janie Patterson, where pupils’ voices were heard as they reflected on lockdown.

He also reviewed a few highlights of the year gone by including Alastair Tait’s significant success in the United Kingdom Maths Challenge; the school’s two awards in the annual Film G competition, and the consequent invitation to
the international film competition in Italy (cancelled due to Covid 19); the notable success of Helen Jones in the young chef competitions, where she won through
multiple levels to be invited to London for the final (again cancelled due to Covid 19); the excellent Youth Philanthropy initiative final this year, where S3 excelled themselves and made the school  proud of them.

As a result £3000 was awarded to the charity West Lochaber Hospital Transport project and the school’s Digital Leaders, who supported other pupils, parents and staff through the year and worked together to gain the school its first prestigious Digital Schools Award .

The life and challenge and successes of the school before lockdown were also shared in the annual presentation ‘that was the year that was’, narrated by school captains Janie Patterson and Ian Kammerath.

The major award winners this year were:

Overall Nominations for the school: Beth Jackson (S1)

Sgeulachd Trophy For Enterprise: Mya Carmichael (S2)

Rural Excellence Award: Nathan Pleming (S5)

Community Partnership Award: Mrs Jillian Campbell and Mrs Lyndsay Bradley

Rotary Club of Lochaber Prize for Endeavour Alistair Tait (S6)

Ewen Gillespie Memorial Trophy: Janie Patterson (S6)