The complete list of inactive cemeteries in Argyll and Bute

St. Moluag's Cathedral on Lismore. 16-T03-stmoluagschurcj
St. Moluag's Cathedral on Lismore. 16-T03-stmoluagschurcj

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish)

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Last week, we revealed that a family were left devastated after finding out there are no more burial plots left on Lismore.

Within the article, Argyll and Bute Council said that there are 66 cemeteries closed to the sale of spaces throughout the constituency.

The Oban Times has now obtained a list of the inactive cemeteries.

The inventory was compiled in August last year, however, it has since been revealed that Lismore is also at capacity.

This came as a shock to the devastated family, who only found out about the situation when they tried to lay a relative to rest beside his family on the island.

They shared their story in a bid to stop others ending up in a similar situation.

Argyll and Bute Council now says it will be asking local residents across the constituency about their personal choices and views this year, so ‘a new set of cemetery policies can be proposed’.

Local authorities are only required to provide one cemetery per area, but Argyll and Bute has 65 cemeteries available for the purchase of lairs.

There are a large number of lairs that have been sold, but 70 years have lapsed without them being used. The council said one option in areas of most need could be to investigate if these are still needed and claim them back if not.

The full list of inactive cemeteries, not including Lismore, are:

Helensburgh and Lomond

Rhu Churchyard – Rhu
Ballyhenan – Arrochar
Cardross Churchyard – Cardross

Bute and Cowal

Saint Blanes (Private) – Bute
Hamilton Street – Dunoon
Inverchaolin – Cowal
Kilfinnan – Cowal
Southall – Cowal
High Kirk – Dunoon
Kilbride – Cowal

Mid-Argyll, Kintyre and Islay

Achnabreac Other Sections – Mid-Argyll / Knapdale
Braeface – Mid-Argyll / Knapdale
Carse, Mid – Argyll / Knapdale
Inverlussa – Mid-Argyll / Knapdale
Inverneill – Mid-Argyll / Knapdale
Keills, Tayvallich – Mid-Argyll / Knapdale
Killinver – Mid-Argyll / Knapdale
Kilmahumaig – Mid-Argyll / Knapdale
Kilmalieu – Mid-Argyll / Knapdale
Kilmartin – Mid-Argyll / Knapdale
Kilmory – Mid-Argyll / Knapdale
Kilmory Knapp – Mid-Argyll / Knapdale
Kilnaishn – Mid-Argyll / Knapdale
Lergnahension – Mid-Argyll / Knapdale
Lochgair – Mid-Argyll / Knapdale
Lochead – Mid-Argyll / Knapdale
Tarbert New – Mid-Argyll / Knapdale
Tarbert O – T – Mid-Argyll / Knapdale
Tarbert A – O – Mid-Argyll / Knapdale
English – Campbeltown
Gartnagrenach – Kintyre
Kilchenzie – Kintyre
Kilkivan – Kintyre
Saddell – Kintyre
Waterfoot – Kintyre
Clachan (Old) – Kintyre
Kilnave – Islay / Jura
Kilarrow – Islay / Jura
Kilchiaran – Islay / Jura
Kildalton – Islay / Jura
Tarbert – Islay Jura Islay / Jura
Inverluss – Islay / Jura

Oban, Lorn and the Isles

Carsaig – Mull
Lochdon – Mull
Fionnhport – Mull
Gometra – Mull
Inch keneth – (Gribun) Mull
Kilinalin – Mull
Killean – Mull
Kilmluaig – Mull
Kilninian – Mull
Kilunaig – Mull
Knock – Mull
Laggan – Mull
Tobermory (Old) – Mull
Kilfinichen – Mull
Kilpatrick – Bunessan, Mull
Kilvickeon –  Bunessan, Mull
Kilvickeon – Ulva, Mull
Kilbride – Lorn
Kilmelford – Lorn
Kilmore – Lorn
Parish Cemetery – Oban
Crossapol – Coll
Cladbeag – Tiree