Inveraray players recognised at awards night

Left to right: prizewinners Allan MacDonald, Robert Wood, Kenny Kirkhope, Campbell Watt and Kane Kirkhope.

Want to read more?

At the start of the pandemic in March we took the decision to make online access to our news free of charge by taking down our paywall. At a time where accurate information about Covid-19 was vital to our community, this was the right decision – even though it meant a drop in our income. In order to help safeguard the future of our journalism, the time has now come to reinstate our paywall, However, rest assured that access to all Covid related news will still remain free.

To access all other news will require a subscription, as it did pre-pandemic. The good news is that for the whole of December we will be running a special discounted offer to get 3 months access for the price of one month. Thank you for supporting us during this incredibly challenging time.

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

A formal occasion on Saturday February 15 allowed outgoing Inveraray Shinty Club chairman Euan McMurdo to thank and recognise the club’s sponsors and helpers.

They were: The Inveraray Inn, The George Hotel, D A MacDonald and Londis, which not only helps financially but always provides the club with enthusiastic support.

The shinty club also thanked Brian and Audrey, of Londis, who will be moving away later in the year, recognising the great asset they have been to the Inveraray community and wishing them all the best for the future.

Other individuals who help the club throughout the year were thanked, including Roddy and May MacPherson, who have helped raise funds for the club through their annual quiz night and selling lottery tickets, and D J MacDonald, who also sells weekly tickets.

The club also thanked all the individuals involved with making the club an asset to the community, from helping raise funds through the club’s annual open day for the newly-formed baby and toddlers group to helping to raise the majority of funds through grants for the new community minibus.
Once the formalities of thanking everyone had been completed, awards were presented.

These went to Campbell Watt, second team top goal scorer; Allan MacDonald, first team top goal scorer; Kane Kirkhope, Jock MacCallum trophy for most improved/most promising youngster; Kenny Kirkhope second team player of the year; and Robert Wood, first team player of the year.

With the recent bad weather, the club has failed to get any momentum going for pre-season, however, it starts its campaign on March 7 with the first team at home to Glenurquhart and the second team away to Kilmory.