Nominations open for four Lochaber Community Councils

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish)

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Highland Council is inviting nominations to community councils that remained unformed after elections held in December 2019.

The areas that are seeking nominations in Lochaber are: Caol, Mallaig, Glenfinnan, and Spean Bridge, Roy Bridge and Achnacarry. Portree and Braes on Skye is also currently unformed.

Community councils are voluntary organisations that act as a voice for their local area. They express views and concerns of people within their area across a wide range of issues such as new buildings and roads to local services and facilities.

They also have legal duties: by law, the Highland Council must consult with community councils on planning and licensing applications in their area.

In some areas, community councils receive community benefit money from windfarm projects which they can reinvest in the community. Others are involved in setting up community development companies which can lead to larger projects to improve the area.

Some community councils have worked to improve patient transport, dental services and care services as well as looking at ways to improve their environment for the good of the community and visitors.

The maximum membership of each community council is determined by the population it serves and varies from seven to 13 members. When the number of nominations exceeds the maximum number of members, a ballot will be held.

Those wishing to stand as a candidate must reside within the community council boundary and be a registered voter.

The deadline for receiving all nominations is noon on Wednesday February 26.

For more information and to download nomination forms, head to the community councils section at