Oban smash it in annual Argyll Cup showdown

Oban Badminton Club’s A and C teams - winners of the 2020 Argyll Cup.

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?
Subscribe Now

Badminton was the name of the game at Atlantis Leisure on Saturday as teams from Oban, Dunoon and Mid Argyll battled it out in the annual Argyll Cup.

Divided into A and C sections, five pairs from each club competed in each section with the hosts looking to retain the C Cup they won in Dunoon in 2019. The A team were out to stop Dunoon holding onto the A Cup.
The Oban C team were in dominating form, blowing away Dunoon and Mid Argyll to take the honours.

Bruce Aitken from Oban Badminton Club said:  ‘We had to work really hard for the cup last year in Dunoon so we were glad we were able to close out the C cup early on this year.’

Making her Argyll Cup debut this year, 14-year-old Nuira Clowes played really well with Bruce describing her as ‘a very talented player who will keep getting good results across the board in the various tournaments she plays in Scotland’.

The A team had to work a little harder in their section as Mid Argyll came with a strong team.

‘We had to work to the end to get the result and the team gave it their all to get Oban over the finish line to lift a well-deserved trophy.
‘I’m so proud of the team. It was a nerve wracking  when everyone knew it was going down to the wire.
‘All teams played really well and we look forward to the competition in Campbeltown in 2021.’

Organisers thank West Coast Motors for its generous sponsorship of £250 towards the cost of shuttlecocks for the event.

The prizegiving was held in the Perle Hotel, Oban.