Calum takes top honours at sailing club prize-giving

Want to read more?

At the start of the pandemic in March we took the decision to make online access to our news free of charge by taking down our paywall. At a time where accurate information about Covid-19 was vital to our community, this was the right decision – even though it meant a drop in our income. In order to help safeguard the future of our journalism, the time has now come to reinstate our paywall, However, rest assured that access to all Covid related news will still remain free.

To access all other news will require a subscription, as it did pre-pandemic. The good news is that for the whole of December we will be running a special discounted offer to get 3 months access for the price of one month. Thank you for supporting us during this incredibly challenging time.

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Calum Warnock, 17, took top honours in the dinghy section at Oban Sailing Club (OSC) for the 2019 season.

Securing wins in both the Thursday evening and autumn series in the Slow handicap class and winning the Port Beag Plate and the Orienteering Challenge, he was awarded the Forteith Refrigeration Trophy for the best Topper/Pico over the aggregate Points Series. Adding to the first places, Calum also took a second in the Sprint Series in the Slow class and finished third overall in the spring series. He also lifted the Junior Helm Trophy for helming the Sadler 25 Hot Toddy, the overall winning keelboat for the 2019 season.

Calum narrowly eclipsed Liam Campbell who won the double handed challenge, the Sprint Series in the Slow Class and finished second in the Thursday Series Slow Class, the Port Beag Plate and the Orienteering Challenge.

Third overall was Chris Dowd with wins in the Fast class of the Sprints series and the autumn series and a second in the spring series in the fast class. Chris was awarded the Scotwest Windows trophy for the best Laser overall in the Points Series.


Hot Toddy and Elixir of Lorne were the top keelboats for the season finishing first and second respectively. Alison Chadwick’s Hot Toddy won the Slow handicap class series well as the Minots Light Trophy, the OSC Challenge Cup and the Dr Ivor Campbell Cup.

In the Fast handicap class, Eric and Irena Chapman’s Elixir of Lorne collected the silverware in both the spring series and the two Tuesday aggregate series for the Bank of Scotland Cup and the Arthur Duthie Cup. Elixir was also first in the autumn points series for the Arthur Graham Rosebowl and won the Oban Boat Club Cup, the Sutherlands Law Quaich and the Victoria Cup.

Billy Forteith’s Shadowfax was third overall taking wins for the Forteith Trophy, the Elis Tankard and the Billmeir Trophy. Shadowfax took second in the Tuesday aggregate and two third places in the Spring and autumn series. Ben Miller sailing Shadowfax won the Crew Cup Taraora Challenge Trophy.

Outgoing commodore Iain Campbell said it had been an exceptionally good season of activity both on and off the water and that it was extraordinary what a club the size of Oban could achieve in a year. He thanked all the members who had put in so much time and energy over the season.

The annual general meeting saw a change of format to try to reduce the formality of the club and new members on the committee have already seen new ideas emerging.

Iain said that the fantastic engagement with the members’ meeting at the end of October had shared a raft of ideas as to how to move the club forward.

Iain was thanked for all his hard work, as was Andrew Mead, the outgoing treasurer who had also put in many years of commitment to OSC. Andrew McPherson, club secretary said both had played a major part in building up OSC to the fantastic club it is at present.

Dinghy Awards 2019:

Kat Dowd – Senior Plate 3rd Jilly Adams Gillespie Trophy 3rd.
Matthew Houston – Thursday series slow class 3rd.
Harry Neil – Sprint series Slow class 4th Spring series Slow class 5th.
Ailsa Dowd and Iona Keys – Port Beag Plate 3rd Double Handed Challenge 4th.
Gordon Pollock – Thursday Series Fast class 1st Sprint series Fast class 3rd
John Forbes – Senior Plate 1st Sprint series Fast class 2nd
Joe Penhaul – Smith Gillespie Trophy 1st
Rachel Campbell – Double handed Challenge 2nd Orienteering challenge 3rd
Sinclair Hennessey – Spring Series Slow class 1st
Ewan Dowd – Gillespie Trophy 2nd Autumn Series Fast Class 2nd Sprints series slow class 3rd Spring series Slow class 4th
Chris Dowd – Sprint Series Fast Class 1st Autumn Series Fast Class 1st Spring Series Fast Class 2nd Scotwest windows trophy for best Laser overall points series
Liam Campbell – Double handed challenge 1st Sprint Series Slow Class 1st Thursday Series Slow Class 2nd Port Beag Plate 2nd Orienteering Challenge 2nd
Overall dinghy champion 2019 – Calum Warnock Thursday Series Slow Class 1st Autumn Series Slow Class 1st Port Beag Plate 1st Orienteering Challenge 1st Sprint Series Slow Class 2nd Spring Series 3rd Forteith Refrigeration Trophy best Topper/Pico over points series
Keelboat awards 2019:
Rhett Butler – 1st Tuesday aggregate 5th
Minim – 2nd Tuesday aggregate 5th Xarifa 2nd Tuesday aggregate 3rd equal
Kraken – 2nd Tuesday aggregate 3rd equal
Sea Fern – 2nd Tuesday aggregate 2nd
Seal – 1st Tuesday aggregate 2nd 2nd Tuesday aggregate 6th
Mungo Jerry – Spring series 4th 1st Tuesday aggregate 4th 2nd Tuesday aggregate 3rd
Nimrod – Spring series 2nd 1st Tuesday aggregate 2nd 2nd Tuesday aggregate 4th
Shadowfax – Forteith Trophy 1st Elis tankard 1st Billmeir trophy 1st 2nd Tuesday aggregate 2nd 1st Tuesday aggregate 3rd Spring series 3rd
Elixir of Lorne – 1st Spring series 1st Tuesday aggregate Bank of Scotland Cup 1st 2nd Tuesday aggregate Arthur Duthie Cup 1st Autumn points series Arthur Graham Rosebowl 1st Oban Boat Club cup 1st Sutherlands Law Quaich 1st Victoria Cup 1st
Overall Keelboat champion 2019: Hot Toddy – Spring series 1st 1st Tuesday aggregate McGilvray 1934 Cup 1st 2nd Tuesday aggregate McGilvray 1924 Cup 1st Autumn points series Lochaber and Lorn Securities Cup 1st Minots Light Trophy 1st OSC Challenge Cup 1st Hot Toddy Trophy 1st Dr Ivor Campbell Cup 1st Junior Helm Trophy Calum Warnock Hot Toddy
Crews Cup Taraora Challenge trophy Ben Miller – Shadowfax