Colin draws attention at bowling dinner

Colin Carmichael with his trophy haul at the Oban Bowling Club 2019 presentation dinner. FS_T48_BowlingColinCarmichael

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish)

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Oban Bowling Club held their 2019 presentation dinner at the Soroba House Hotel on Friday night with more than 60 members in attendance.

Rounding off its 150th anniversary year, the club celebrated the many successes on the Dalriach Road green throughout the season.

Celebrating more than most was Colin Carmichael who scooped an unprecedented amount of trophies throughout the 2019 season.

A regular member at the club, Colin has enjoyed his most successful season to date, taking seven of the club titles on offer on Friday night and another four outwith the club.

‘It has been a fantastic season for me and I have thoroughly enjoyed it,’ he said.

‘I think the main difference has been that I’ve stopped firing as much, I am thinking more about my bowls and drawing the shots whenever I can rather than driving at the head.

‘I feel a total difference and looking forward to improving my game even more next season.’

Club president Iain Boyd welcomed all in attendance at Friday night’s gathering and thanked everyone who had contributed during the 150th season.

Special mention went to Andrew Forbes, for winning the gents championship for the third consecutive year, and to ladies champion Elizabeth McGillivray for returning to the club after a year off and winning the trio of titles.

Oban Bowling Club trophy winners for season 2019 were: Caledonia – M. Scott/C. Carmichael; Dalriada – J. Strettle/S. Carr; George Barnett – R. Miller/P. Mulligan/I. Miller; MacCalman – S. Barrie/P. Mulligan/J. Kidd; Millenium – P. Freytag/M. Carr/A. Stewart; Iona – R. MacLeod/J. Fraser/H. MacLean; MacNab – A. Stewart/P. MacKinnon/C. MacLean/H. MacLean; Innisfree – C. Carmichael/G. Mullen/G. Angus/George Main – M. Nicolson/J. McLaren/C. Carmichael; Open Pairs – M. Scott/P. MacKinnon; Boyd Fours – I. Boyd/H. MacLean/J. McLaren/G. Angus; Ladies Triples – H. MacLean/M. MacAlpine/D. I. MacLean; Ewen Cambell Triples – D. Crawford/S. Gargan/J. Crawford; Duncan Campbell Pairs – P. Freytag/J. Strettle; Friday Night Triples – C. Carmichael/J. McLaren/A. B. Carmichael/L. Carmichael; Ardsheil – E. MacGillivray; MacLean Senior Singles – E. MacGillivray; Morag Skinner – H. MacLean; Cummings – F. Scott; Senior Handicap Singles – P. McGuire; Junior Singles – E. Gargan; Nominated Pairs – H. MacLean/D. I. MacLean; Balloted Pairs – L. Carmichael/F. Scott; Nominated Triples – H. MacLean/D. I. MacLean/K. Gargan; Balloted Triples – L. Carmichael/R. Miller/J. Webb; MacBrayne – N. MacDougall; MacEwan – R. Dairon; Centenary – C. Carmichael; Senior Singles – N. MacDougall; Mixed Pairs – A. MacDougall/N. MacDougall; Nominated Pairs – D. MacAlpine/C. Carmichael; Balloted Pairs – D. MacAlpine/P.Mulligan; Senior Balloted Pairs – R. Baldwin/J. Kidd; Nominated Triples – C. Carmichael/S. Barrie/P. Mulligan; Balloted Triples – S. Barrie/M.Scott/R.MacLeod. Ladies Championship – E. MacGillivray; Gents Championship – A. Forbes.