Lochaber schools to compete in 20th year of National Gaelic Schools Debate

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish)

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Two secondary schools from Lochaber are set to compete in the 20th year of the National Gaelic Schools Debate.

Mallaig High School will meet Inverness Royal Academy A in the first round in Stornoway on Tuesday, while Ardnamurchan High School will face Gairloch High School A.

Teams from Portree High School, Castlebay Secondary School and the Nicolson Institute will also take part.

The competition started in 1999 and gives pupils a chance to showcase their debating skills, and meet other pupils with Gaelic from across Scotland.

The competition will see around 40 pupils from across Scotland travel to compete against each other in Stornoway and then in Edinburgh.

The first two rounds will be held in the Town Hall in Stornoway on Tuesday  and Wednesday.

Sixteen teams from 13 schools are due to compete in this year’s competition. All the schools will participate in debates over the two days, with the four teams with the highest points, across the two days, progressing to the final stages which will be held in Edinburgh in December.

The final will take place in the main debating chamber of the Scottish Parliament, ​as part of its 20th anniversary commemoration events.

Evelyn Coull Macleod from the National Gaelic Schools Debate management committee, said: ‘We are very much looking forward to the 20th year of the National Gaelic Schools Debate, and to welcoming the schools to Stornoway once again.

‘Following the success of the 2018 debate, which saw Hannah Macleod and Sandy Morrison from the Nicolson Institute emerge as the worthy winners, a high level of competition was set and we look forward to another year of interesting and thought-provoking debates.’