Oban cyclist sets Scottish 100-mile time trial record

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Oban cyclist Catriona MacGillivray set a Scottish 100-mile time trial record on Sunday,  just over a year after giving birth to her daughter Charlotte.

Following her success, she posted on Facebook: ‘I don’t normally post about my cycling and beware this is a long one, but I’m feeling pretty pleased with myself today and I have so many people I want to thank.

‘Today I won the Scottish 100 mile championship with a new Scottish record of four hours and 53 seconds. A team win and a Scottish record with Pam L’Craig.

‘Today will also be my last TT for the time being. I have had an amazing season and never thought I could come back after having Charlotte and have such a great season.

‘Ten mile Scottish champs silver, 25 mile Scottish champ gold, 50 mile, Scottish champs gold, 50 mile Scottish record.

‘Along with my great team mates, we also secured team gold in all Scottish champ events.

‘All these results wouldn’t have been possible without lots of support and help, the amazing Daniel Barnett my coach who has managed to get me back fit again on only five hours training a week. This guy knows what he’s doing!’

North Argyll Cycling Club were also out at the weekend, with Nick Charlton taking the top spot.

The club results were posted on Facebook, saying: ‘There were several new faces and PBs well done to all.’

Nick Charlton who took top spot. Photograph Jamie Scott

Nicholas Charlton 27.20
Michael Bossard 27.23
James Barrow 27.47
Steven Groom 28.31
Fraser Inglis 29.13
Shane Rodwell 29.38
John Docharty 29.51
Alastair Campbell 31.20
Ronald Gordon 31.36
Shona MacLachlan 32.26
Leigh Murray 34.23
Andy Trafford 34.26
Duncan Campbell 35.15
Moira Newiss 37.53
Gail Taylor 40.47

‘Thanks to Aoifa for helping with the start, and Nick at the end.’