Sailors gear up for Round Mull Race

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Sailors are gearing up for this year’s Owen Sails and Ardfern Yacht Centre sponsored Round Mull Race which starts tomorrow (Friday June 28) off Oban Sailing Club.

Running until Sunday June 30, the fleet races 100 miles over three stages – Oban to Tobermory, Tobermory to Bunessan and Bunessan to Oban with stopovers in Tobermory and Bunessan.

Hosted by Oban Sailing Club, generously supported by the sponsors and Dave Sturrock providing the committee boat in the form of MV Unity, the island circumnavigation will see more than 40 boats competing over the weekend making it one of the most popular events on the west coast. T Barbour Fuels also supports the event.

The Mishnish Bucket prize for the first leg is presented at McGochans in Tobermory on the first night. The Bunessan Hall Trophy is the main prize for the next leg from Tobermory to Bunessan.

With three classes for fast, slow and medium handicap as well as a double handed class and one for restricted sail, the event encourages all sailors to take part. A seafood buffet provided by Forteith Refrigeration and Heatpump Solutions, followed by an informal get together, will take place in Oban Sailing Club tonight (Thursday) preceding the race.

Once again, Dimension Polyant will be generously supplying ‘goodies’ for competitors.

Major prizes include The Torran Rock presented to the monohull with the best corrected time overall regardless of class, The Royal Bank of Scotland Trophy to the monohull regardless of class with the best on points over all three legs and The Brian Shellcock Memorial Trophy to the monohull restricted sail class with the best corrected time over all three legs.

The main trophies are awarded at the Oban Sailing Club prizegiving in November.