Want to read more?
We value our content and access to our full site is only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards
A shinty-playing maths teacher has been reprimanded by education bosses after he was convicted of headbutting an opponent at the end of a match.
Liam MacIntyre, 35, originally from Oban, was charged with assault after he attacked a rival Glasgow Mid Argyll player at Yokermill, Glasgow, at the end of a match in May 2014. The incident occurred after his Fort William team was awarded a contentious goal in the final minutes of the Camanachd Cup first round tie.
MacIntyre was fined £750 after being convicted of headbutting the victim to his severe injury at Glasgow Sheriff Court in May 2016. He was also ordered to pay his victim £500.
However, MacIntyre failed to immediately inform his employers, South Lanarkshire Council, that he had been charged by police, despite working at schools in the area.
The General Teaching Council for Scotland (GTCS), following a hearing in Edinburgh in February, decided against striking off MacIntyre. However, due to the serious nature of the misconduct, it enforced a 12-month conditional registration order and reprimand.
MacIntyre also admitted at the hearing to behaving in an ‘intimidating and aggressive manner’ towards a teaching colleague in a separate incident.
The panel also heard he had previous court convictions for assaulting a police officer and resisting arrest during an incident in his home town of Oban in 2008.
In a written ruling, the GTCS said: ‘In the panel’s view, the teacher’s conduct did fall significantly short of the standards expected of a registered teacher. The incidents, each of which gave rise to criminal convictions, were plainly serious. The criminal behaviour was repeated and occurred in different contexts.’
MacIntyre said he made an ‘honest mistake’ in not informing the teaching council of the charge and claimed he had been given advice not to report the case. At the hearing, MacIntyre acknowledged that the charge of assault was a ‘serious matter’ but said he assumed his employer would be notified automatically.
MacIntyre won two Camanachd Cup titles during his time with Fort William and has represented Scotland at an international level.