Curtain call for 45th Lochaber Music Festival

Trophy winners and friends Chloe Reynolds (left) and Lila Berardelli.

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

The 45th Lochaber Music Festival ended on a high note last Thursday with a closing concert at Lochaber High School.

The Lochaber High School Pipers’ Quartet and Cameron MacIsaac (who was a contender for the Premier Traditional Award on his accordion) book-ended a lively and varied selection of speech, dancing and musical items from this year’s classes, as well as the presentation of trophies.

The festival was very well supported this year, with entries for Scots piano, Scottish country dancing and adult classes especially welcomed by the organisers.

Festival chairwoman Catherine Cameron said: ‘In this area, we are extremely fortunate to retain our music education during these financially-challenging times – and we hope that, with the support of our sponsors, we can continue to celebrate Lochaber’s performing talents annually for another 45 years!’

Trophy winners

Joan MacKintosh Trophy for Solo Piano (BeginnersElementary)
Aisling Flavin.

Mary MacPherson Memorial Trophy for Action Dramatised Song
Invergarry Primary 1-3.

Maureen McSherry Memorial Cup
Lily Jane Robertson.

D.C.B. Maitland Memorial Quaich for Miscellaneous Vocal Groups

Margaret Cairns Rosebowl for Solo Piano (SecondaryOpen)
Sophie Rand.

Margaret Rankin Memorial Trophy for Scottish Country Dancing (18 and under).
RSCDS Lochaber

Lochaber Music School Junior Trophy for String Solo (Under 8)
Lily Cant.

Rosemary Galer Trophy for Solo Violin or Viola (Primary)
Nia Read.

Lochaber Music School Primary Trophy for Solo CelloDouble Bass (Primary)
Elodie Place.

Lochaber Music School Secondary Trophy for Solo ViolinViola (Secondary)
Lily Bloom.

Jean Cameron Cup for Solo Cello (Secondary Age)
Josie Bloom.

Russell String Duets Trophy for String Duets
Tilly MacDonald.
Clare Reynolds.
Ben McGregor.
Jenny Abell.

Elizabeth Findlay Memorial Trophy for Scots Violin Solo (Age 17 & Under)
Seonaidh MacDonald.

Isobel MacPhee Quaich for Violin Solo – Scots
Anna Robertson.

Lochaber Strathspey & Reel Society Trophy for Fiddle Group (Under 18)
Na’ Fidhlearn og.

Chamber Music Groups Trophy for Strings
LMS Cello Quintet.

The Thomson Trophy for String EnsemblesOrchestras
LMS Senior String Orchestra.

Moyra M. MacGregor Memorial Trophy for Woodwind Solo (IntermediateAdvanced)
Molly Cameron.

Millennium Woodwind Trophy for Woodwind Solo (Most Potential)
Shona Knight.

Silver Jubilee Trophy for Group Music Making
Invergarry Primary 4-7.
Inverlochy Primary Band.
Spean Bridge Primary 4.

J.R.G. Bruce Trophy for Brass (BeginnerElementary)
Lennard Baak.

John Whyte Trophy for Brass Solo (IntermediateAdvanced)
Elspeth Murray.

Royal Bank of Scotland Trophy for Woodwind or Brass Ensembles
Slide Power.

Lydia Jackson Trophy for Clarsach Solo
Lily Bloom.

Lochaber Cup for Chanter (Age 10 & Under)
Jamie Smith.

William MacLeod Trophy for Chanter Solo (11 & Over)
Zoe Sinclair.

David MacGregor Cup for Bagpipe Solo (Intermediate)
Natalie Byrne.

Archie Kennedy Memorial Trophy for Bagpipe Solo (Age 15 & Under – March)
Laura Robertson.

Alexander MacDonald Trophy for Bagpipe Solo (Age 15 & Under – Strathspey & R|eel)
Andrew Orr.

James Grace Memorial Trophy for Bagpipe Solo (Age 16 to 18)
Ben Fulford.

Evan MacRae Trophy for Bagpipe Solo (Piobaireachd – 1st Year)
Andrew Orr.

Lochaber Piping Society Trophy for Bagpipe Solo (Piobaireachd – 2nd Year)
Ronnie McIntosh.

John MacCallum Memorial Trophy for Bagpipe Solo (Piobaireachd – Senior)
Laura Robertson.

Lochaber Pipe Band Trophy for Bagpipe Solo (Jig – 18 & Under)
Laura Robertson.

Alec MacDonald Memorial Trophy for Bagpipe Quartet (18 & Under)
Lochaber High Pipers.

John Tague Memorial Trophy for Accordion
Cameron MacIsaac.

Val Howland – Cairney Trophy for Solo Verse (Age 8 & Under)
Rocco Berardelli.

Solo Verse Speaking Trophy for Aged 9 & 10
Osian Bellshaw.

Caol Community Council Shield for Solo Verse Speaking (11 and over)
Lila Berardelli.

Marshall & Pearson Trophy for Choral Verse
Lundavra Primary 7.

Bible Awards for Bible Reading
Charleigh Adams.

Church Guilds’ Trophy for bible reading (Primary 1-3)
Charleigh Adams.

Lochaber Burns Club Trophy for Burn’s Poetry
Victoria Golebiowska.
Fraser Lindsay.

Lochaber Burns Club awards
Chloe Reynolds.

Lochaber Young Musician of the Year Junior Trophy
Chloe Reynolds.

Lochaber Young Musician of the Year Senior Trophy
Jake Sessions.

Premier Scots Traditional Award
Laura Robertson.

Premier Junior Vocal Award
Lily Jane Robertson.

Premier Adult Vocal Award
Anja Inkson.

Premier Instrumental Award
Molly Cameron.

John MacDonald Memorial Trophy for Choirs – Primary Age
Coisir ban Sgoil Gaelic.

Kilmallie Country Dance Club Trophy for Endeavour for Age 18 & Under
Caol Primary

David C.B. Maitland Award for Piano (Sonata, Scots and Duets)
Robert Gosling.
Kirsty Ball.