Scottish Crime Book of the Year award opens for entries

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

The McIlvanney Prize – Bloody Scotland’s annual prize awarded to the best Scottish Crime book of the year – is now open for entries.

The award provides Scottish crime writing with recognition and aims to raise the profile and prestige of the genre as a whole.

The prize was renamed in memory of William McIlvanney, often described as the Godfather of Tartan Noir, in 2016.

Last year’s winner was Liam McIlvanney, William McIlvanney’s son, with The Quaker.

Scottish roots are a must for competition applications: authors must either be born or raised in Scotland, having lived there for six years or more, or their books are substantially set there.

Only fiction is eligible and eligible novels must have been first published in the UK between 1 August 2018 and 31 July 2019.

A debut prize has been added to this year’s awards, which will be selected from the highest scoring titles in the first round and judged by the board of Bloody Scotland, including crime writers Lin Anderson, Craig Robertson, Gordon Brown and Abir Mukerjee.

The McIlvanney Prize itself will be judged by Alison Flood, books reporter for The Guardian and a former news reporter for The Bookseller; James Crawford, chairman of Publishing Scotland and presenter of BBC series Scotland from the Sky, and Stuart Cosgrove, writer and broadcaster who was formerly a senior executive at Channel 4.

The winner of The McIlvanney Prize will receive a cheque for £1000 and a new prize of £500 will be awarded for the Scottish Crime Debut of the Year.

Full details on how to enter can be found at