Prize-giving at Dalmally Golf CLub

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Sunday saw a great turnout on one of the most beautiful Sundays of the year for the Dalmally Golf Club end of season fun game and prize-giving. The fun game – a reverse waltz tri-am – was won by the team of Lily McKay, Ann Hay and James MacMillan with an impressive score of 62.

After the game, members enjoyed lunch and the annual prize-giving. Prize-winners for the year were:

Gents: McLure Cup/Summer Eclectic – Billy Ross; Strathorchy Trophy – Graham Melvin; McIntyre Greensomes – Tony Graham and Scott Gibson; Senior Championship – Terry Macnair; Scotch Greensomes (Lochawe Foursomes) – James MacMillan and Keith Johnston; Leisure Sport Trophy – James MacMillan; Cowan Cup – Terry Macnair; Doubles Strokeplay – Billy McKay and Ewan Groat; Two Clubs and a Putter – Graeme MacKechnie; Spring Stableford League – Jim Livingstone; Autumn Stableford League – Jim Livingstone; Most improved player (from last year) – Tommy Gibson; Gold Medal – Jim Livingstone; Silver Medal – Stephen Ross; Club Championship (handicap) – Terry Macnair; Club Championship (scratch) – Graeme MacKechnie.

Ladies: Simmers Quaich – Janet Buchanan; Easter Competition – June Sutherland; Thistle Brooch – Alison Livingstone; Eclectic (Red Cross) – Lily McKay; Four Seasons Salver – Lily McKay; Duriehill Rosebowl – Alison Livingstone; Braigh Quaich – June Boden; Flag Competition – Ann Munro; Raglan Decanter – Lily McKay; Lyndsay Trophy – Colleen & Lily; Two Clubs and Putter – Ann Munro; Club Championship – Scratch – Janet Buchanan; Club Championship – Handicap – June Sutherland; Tyndrum Trophy – Ann Munro & Alison; Silver Medal – Lily McKay; Bronze Medal – Colleen Brown; Kilchurn Trophy – Janet Buchanan; Best 29-36+ Handicap – June Boden; Birdie Tree – Lily McKay; Quaich – 9 hole – June Boden; Ann Foyle Claret Jug – Lily McKay

Junior prize-winners: Flag Day Winner: Owen Moran, Most Improved Girl: Abigail Frew, Most Improved Boy (6-8yrs): Andrew MacMillan, Most Improved Boy (9-12 yrs ): Lewis MacMillan, Special Prize for Enthusiasm: Harry Frew

Club captain Maud Marshall thanked everyone for a great turnout and a very successful year for the club. She said: ‘With record numbers of players in competitions including the club’s opens, we have seen our junior section begin to thrive. With an enthusiastic group of adult beginners, impressive numbers of visitors and the course in great condition, it will be a real challenge to improve on this next year.’