Regional squads announced ahead of north v south clash

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish)

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

The Camanachd Association have announced the north and south squads ahead of the U14 and U17 representative matches at An Aird, Fort William this coming Sunday October 7.

The event will see the sport’s top talent take to the field with the Fraser MacPhee Memorial Cup (U14s) at 12pm and the Under 17 encounter at 2.30pm.

Camanachd Association youth director Willie MacDonald, said: ‘The coaches across all four squads have had some tough choices to make in selecting this year’s squads; there is undoubtedly an abundance of talent out there.

‘It is also especially pleasing to see the progression a number of players have made from under 14, to under 17 and then to the under 21 national squad over the past few years, so the importance of this event to a player’s pathway is clear to see.’

The four squads are listed below:

North Under 14 Squad

George Taylor – Ramsay (Kingussie)

Eion Baikie (Kingussie)

William Sutherland (Skye)

Finlay Coleman (Caberfeidh)

Charlie Ferguson (Newtonmore)

Tyler Whyte (Lochaber)

Euan MacCormick (Beauly)

Sean Maclennan (Fort William)

Archie MacRae (Kinlochshiel)

Taylor Matheson (Skye)

Craig MacDonald (Fort William)

Finlay Maclennan (Beauly)

Finlay Fraser (Glengarry)

Aaron McBeth (Kinlochshiel)

Maree  Mackenzie (Kinlochshiel)

Calum Mackintosh (Kingussie)

Coaches: Gregor MacCormick and Sean Macquarrie.

South Under 14 Squad

Gordon Currie (Bute)

Marcus Plank (Bute)

Leon McMillan (Bute)

Callum MacMillan (Bute)

Kieran Lopez (Oban Camanachd)

Louis MacFarlane (Oban Camanachd)

Steven Thomson (Dunoon)

John Douglas (Oban Lorn)

William MacEwan (Oban Lorn)

Pearce McBeth (Oban Lorn)

Coll MacKay (Inveraray)

Neilly MacNaughton (Dunoon)

Logan Thompson (Ballachulish)

Sam Daynes (Ballachulish)

Lewis Moran (Ballachulish)

Eoin Burns (Aberdour)

Coaches: Les Kinvig and Alan Duffy.

North Under 17 Squad

Calum Grover (Newtonmore)

Jamie Gillies (Skye)

Kieran MacPherson (Kingussie)

Thomas Maclean (Strathglass)

Cam Clark (Kilmallie)

Connor Gilpin (Skye)

Cameron Macintosh (Glenurquhart)

Lewis Clark (Fort William)

Lachie Shaw (Fort William)

Dylan Borthwick (Kingussie)

Ross Gordon (Skye)

Duncan Matheson(Kinlochshiel)

Martin Pringle (Skye)

William Mackinnon (Skye)

Liam Borthwick (Kingussie)

Ryan Boyle (Fort William)

Coaches -Russell Jones & Kenny Macleod.

South Under 17 Squad

Dougie MacDonald(Oban Camanachd)

Cally MacNaughton (Col Glen)

Scott MacVicar (Col Glen)

Kyle Kerr (Col Glen)

Connor Kennedy (Col Glen)

Tom Irbhin (Col Glen)

Ryan Craig (Bute)

William Boag (Bute)

Scott Harvey (Bute)

Daniel Sloss (Oban Camanachd)

Blair MacFarlane (Oban Camanachd)

Ross Campbell (Oban Camanachd)

Ryan Barclay (Oban Camanachd)

David MacDougall (Aberdour)

Ali Abbott (Aberdour)

Campbell Watt (Inveraray)

Coaches – Ronnie MacVicar & Euan McMurdo.