Glencruitten Open success for Martin

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Oban Times – subscribe today for as little as 56 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Martin Rae won the Glencruitten Open on Saturday with a score of 63 (BIH).

Runner-up was James Muir, who won the Handicap Trophy with a score of 63 – 3 = 60 (BIH). Runner-up in the handicap was Dugald MacLean with a score of 68 – 8 = 60.

On Saturday the first round of the Cameron Trophy takes place with the second round of the Summer Eclectic and on Sunday the second round of the Cameron Trophy and Summer Eclectic third round.


Results from the Killin Gents’ Open held on August 4. Scratch : The Davies Trophy – 1. Gavin Dott (Kenmore) 67 BIH; 2. Greg McLellan (Stirling) 67; 3. John D Cowan (Taymouth Castle) 70.

Handicap : The Melia Quaich – 1. Sean Dunstaffnage (Glencruitten) 63 BIH; 2. Richard Downie (Polmont) 63; 3. Jim Ronald (Killin) 64 BIH.

The Wee Claret Jug: (Best Local Overall) – Jim Ronald.

Longest drive: Category 1 (9th only) – Gavin Dott (Kenmore); Category 2 (7th only ) – Anthony Johnstone (Killin).

Nearest the pin: Category 1 (8th and 17th ) – Jim Ronald (Killin); Category 2 (5th and 14th ) – David Watt (St Fillans).

All in 2 (6th only) : Greg McLellan (Stirling).

Magic 2s: Joe Gordon (Dumbarton), James Gordon (Cameron House), John Lauder (Cardross), John Elliot (Langholm), Martin Tait (Glencruitten), Aiden McCuish (Glencruitten), Jim Burton (Balbirnie Park), Sean Dunstaffnage (Glencruitten), Mons Bolin (Killin), Blair Paterson (Muckhart) x 2, Michael Dawson (Tillicoultry), Graham Herd (St Fillans), Dickie Lewis (Killin), Jim Ronald (Killin), Kenny Campbell (Prestonfield). CSS 65.


Graham Melvin won Dalmally Golf Club’s annual Strathorchy Trophy, shooting a net 62 to beat off the challenge of Terry McNair and Graeme MacKechnie, who both returned net scores of 64.

Meanwhile, the summer eclectic concluded with the McLure Cup being awarded to Billy Ross, who returned a fine net score over four rounds of 52. In a closely fought affair in a format that can see one good score at a single hole making the difference, just a stroke separated each of the top three. Tony Graham with his 53 was pipped at the post for second with Jim Livingstone a further stroke back.


Club Championship: fourth round – 1 Alan Wilson 68-9=59; 2 Robert MacLarty 73-12=61; 3 Alex Needham 75-14=61.

Club Championship scratch – 1 David Howie four round total = 270; 2 Andy Ronald = 275; 3 Andrew Diggory = 288; 4 Donald MacVicar = 288.

Club Championship handicap – 1 Andy Ronald four round total = 250; 2 Robert MacLarty = 253; 3 David Howie = 258; 4 Alex Needham = 258.
Senior Club Champion: best three round total – David Howie =186.