Mixed weather for first week of Plockton Regatta

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Plockton has been abuzz with activity over the last fortnight as the village’s annual sailing regatta took place.

Here is round-up of the results from the first week of sailing:

On Saturday July 21, Plockton Small Boat Sailing Club held their annual race in aid of RNLI, six Local Boats and one centreboard took part.
David Hay in the centreboard Aquila won the RNLI Pennant, second was Ian Hay (Seolta) and third was Alexander Mackenzie (Seaforth).

On Monday July 23 the Annual Regatta Fortnight began in dry, weather which continued for most of the week.

In the afternoon four ladies raced in the Ladies Local Boat race for the Melora cup:
1 – Lucy Downie (Coruisk).
2 – Joy Mackenna (Sea Ranger).
3 – Julia MacKenzie (Rona).
4 – Morag Amos ( Eala Bhan).

In the evening, 11 local boats (one more than last year) sailed in the 1st Plockton Trophy race:
1 – Neil MacRae (Rona).
2 – David Hay (Coruisk).
3 – Michael Hay (Nan).
Sadly the Centreboard race for the first Ulluva Cup had only one entrant so the race was not held.

There were no races on Tuesday, as many villagers travelled to Clydebank for the funeral of Margaret Macquarrie who had recently left Plockton to live in Glasgow.

On Wednesday strong winds cancelled the afternoon races but in the evening 10 local boats sailed for the Douglas MacKenzie Challenge Cuach:
1 – Michael Hay ( Nan).
2 – David Hay ( Coruisk).
3 – Rod MacLeod (Talisker) Rod came from Russia for the regatta.
4 – Neil Macrae ( Rona).
5 – Ian Hay ( Seolta).
Due to the calm conditions only five boats finished, 10 minutes inside the two and a half hour limit.

Also held was the first Pelly Cup race for Centrboards:
1 – Robin Smith (Connundrum).
2 – James Smith (Inominate).
3 – Teo Becu (Doredo).

On Thursday afternoon the second Pelly cup took place:
1 – James Smith
2 – Robbie Baird (Pero)
3 – Robin Smith

On Thursday evening, in temperatures around 25C, eight boats sailed in the second Plockton Trophy Race.
1 – Michael Hay (Nan)
2 – Ian Hay (Seolta)
3 – Malcolm Mackenzie (Taeping)

Also held was the second Ulluva Cup Race:
1 – James Smith.
2 – Robin Smith.
3 – Teo Becu.

On Friday afternoon the Consett Championship Race for local boats had eight starters (no handicaps):
1 – Ian Hay (Seolta), father.
2 – David Hay (Coruisk), son.
3 – Michael Hay (Nan), son.

This race also counted for the Alistair MacKenzie Cup ( handicaps)
1 – Michael Hay (Nan) winning by eight seconds.
2 – Neil MacRae (Rona).
3 – David Hay (Coruisk).

Also held was the third Pelly Cup, with the Smith brothers making up the top three:
1 – James Smith
2 – Robin Smith
3 – Peter Smith

As a result of the three races , the winner of the Pelly Cup was
James Smith, four points, in second was Robin Smith with six points third was Robbie Baird with 10 points.

On Friday evening, three boats took part in the Youths Race for the Johnnie Ruari Tray:
1 – Christopher Townend (Seaforth).
2 – Jonathon MacKinnon (Eala bhan).
3 – Julia MacKenzie (Taeping).

On Saturday six local boats sailed in the long distance race for the Matheson Cup:
1 – Neil MacRae (Rona).
2 – Jonathon MacKinnon (Eala Bhan).
3 – David Hay (Coruisk).

Six Centreboards also sailed in the third Ulluva Cup with the winner getting the Airighdrishaig Cup:
1 – James Smith.
2 – Tristan Southall (Laser 2000).
3 – Robin Smith.

In the evening the Commodore’s Party was held in the Boatshed when Commodore Ruth Scott thanked everybody who had made it a very successful first week with only the boys and girls races yet to take place.
The weather changed overnight on Saturday and three local boats capsized at their moorings in the gale force winds.


Sailors take to the water at the Plockton Regatta. NO F32 Plockton Regatta