Five are elected to national park board

Lomond and Trossachs National Park Board of Governors Election Count 5.7.18

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Five members have been elected to the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park Authority board following a vote by local residents.

An election count was held at National Park Authority headquarters at Balloch last Thursday July 5, where the successful candidates were announced.

Bob Darracott was elected in Ward 1 (Cowal and North Loch Lomond) with 113 votes.

Billy Ronald was re-elected in Ward 2 (Breadalbane and the Trossachs) with 321 votes. Billy remains on the board having been elected in October 2015.

Martin Earl was elected in Ward 3 (Callander) with 340 votes. Martin previously sat on the board as a council-nominated member from 2012-2017.

Willie Nisbet was re-elected in Ward 4 (East Loch Lomond and Port of Menteith) with 457 votes.

David McCowan was re-elected in Ward 5 (West Loch Lomond and Balloch) with 242 votes. David has sat on the board as a locally elected member since 2010.

The National Park Authority board is responsible for making strategic decisions for the park and has an important role to play in ensuring the National Park Authority deliver its key aims.

Voting in the election, which takes place every four years via postal ballot, was open to all those who live in the national park and are aged over 16.

The election was organised by Stirling Council on behalf of the National Park Authority.

Depute returning officer Iain Strachan presided over the count proceedings and announced the successful candidates, who were congratulated by National Park Authority Board convener James Stuart.

Mr Stuart said: ‘I am delighted that so many people who live, work and have an interest in this beautiful part of Scotland took the time to put themselves forward as a candidate or have their say on who should make the important decisions here in the park.

‘Congratulations to those successful candidates who have been re-elected to the National Park Authority board and also welcome to Bob Darracott and Martin Earl, who rejoins the board in his new capacity.

‘Board members play a crucial role in helping to steer the strategic direction of the national park and our locally-elected members’ knowledge and expertise make a crucial contribution to our decision-making process.

‘I look forward to working with them over the next four years to continue making our national park a great place to live, work and visit.’

The new members will take up their duties with immediate effect and their term will run until July 2022.