Glasgow Celtic Society Cup Final 2018

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish)

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Kyles Athletic and Oban Camanachd meet in the 114th Scottish Sea Farms Glasgow Celtic Society Cup Final at the Taynuilt Sports Field on Saturday June 30.

This tournament is open to all south senior sides playing in shinty’s top three tiers, and Glasgow Cowal were inaugural winners in 1879.

Holders Kyles Athletic have lifted the famous trophy a record 34 times and their recent dominance sees them going for ‘six-in-a-row’. Their 3-1 win over Oban Camanachd in 2017 gave James Perlich a first trophy as manager.

Perlich will keep a careful eye on defender Callum Miller and forward Roddy MacDonald ahead of the final. Injury ruled Miller out of the Kyles starting line-up which beat Lochaber 7-1 in the league last weekend. MacDonald came off after suffering a knock in that game and neither will be risked unnecessarily against Oban Celtic this week.

Oban Camanachd have recorded 18 Celtic Society successes; the last being back in 2005 when they beat Bute 7-4. They were runners-up last year but there is a strong feeling within their camp that they did not do themselves justice that day.

Manager Ian Hay is pleased defender Scott McKillop is making progress following a long-term injury whilst Lorne Dickie has benefited from a fortnight’s rest as he regains fitness.

The sides have met already this season, drawing 1-1 in the league at Mossfield, so another close contest seems likely.

Ross Brown is the match referee, taking charge of his first senior final. He will receive the Jack Asher Memorial Whistle which has been presented since 2016. Jack was a director of the Glasgow Celtic Society for 50 years and refereed the final on three occasions. Ross Brown will be supported by goal judges Des McNulty and Graham Fisher, while the experienced Lachie Wood, who refereed last year’s final, is the fourth official.

The Donald J MacNiven Memorial Medal will be awarded to the man of the match. Dunky Kerr was the 2017 recipient; his reward for a fine all-round performance in which he scored two of his side’s goals.

With the final fast approaching, Archie Robertson from the Glasgow Celtic Society said: ‘We are anticipating a great day and Taynuilt has proved to be an excellent venue for the final. We thank new sponsors Scottish Sea Farms and I’m sure they will enjoy the occasion.

‘We’ve also continue our very successful partnership with the Taynuilt Sports Council and Taynuilt Shinty Club and their usual efficient co-operation in the lead-up to the final is much appreciated.

‘Kyles Athletic and Oban Camanachd are two of shinty’s top sides and there’s great interest in the game so I’m sure there will be big crowd and an entertaining final. We are especially pleased to have Billy Irving and his wife Yvonne along as our special guests on the day.’

The Glasgow Celtic Society will again honour the winning team from 50 years ago. Inveraray beat Glasgow Mid Argyll 3-2 at Yokermill Road on 4 May 1968, with Billy MacPherson, Iain Morrison and R Campbell scoring. The surviving veterans able to make the final will be introduced to the crowd.

Throw up is at 4.05pm and the final will be broadcast live on BBC ALBA.