National park election candidates are announced

Want to read more?

We value our content and our journalists, so to get full access to all your local news updated 7-days-a-week – PLUS an e-edition of the Oban Times – subscribe today for as little as 56 pence per week.

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

The candidates standing in local elections to become Board members for Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park have been announced.

The National Park Authority local elections will recruit five members of the park authority board.

The board is responsible for making strategic decisions for the park and has an important part to play in helping to deliver the National Park Authority’s key aims.

Nominations to stand for election to the board closed on Thursday May 31. Residents of the national park now have the opportunity to have their say on who joins the board in a postal ballot to choose five locally elected members – one for each of the five wards in the park.

The candidates in each ward are:

Ward 1 – Cowal and North Loch Lomond: Ali Campbell, Bob Darracott, Rob Donkin, George Freeman, Donald Illingworth, Maria Jemicz, Gary Pollock, Dan Romani, Gary Watson.

Ward 2 – Breadalbane and Trossachs: Owen McKee, Phill Ragsdell, Billy Ronald, Tim Tindle, Ward 3 – Callander: Jack Black, Martin Earl, Chris Martin, John Watson.

Ward 4 – East Loch Lomond and Port of Menteith: Bob Hunter, Willie Nisbet.

Ward 5 – West Loch Lomond and Balloch: Gwen Jones-Edwards, Ronnie McColl, David McCowan, Gavin David Monson, Iain Shonny Paterson.