Sun shines on 33rd Am-Am

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Sunday saw 128 golfers in 42 teams compete in the annual charity golf competition run by the Rotary Club of Oban.

The weather was glorious for the 33rd Am-Am tournament and showed Glencruitten golf course at its best with some excellent scores being made.

The winners of The Oban Times Cup were Camanachd C with 93 points. Second, winning the PDK Shellfish Trophy, were D and A Munn with 92 points, and third, winning the Bank of Scotland Cup, were Stuart Livingstone Joiners with 91 points.

President Tommy McQuade of Oban Rotary Club thanked everyone
for their support and for the substantial sums raised for local good

The full results and prizes were as follows.

Nearest to the pin: 2nd: Jim Muir; 3rd: Neil Fraser; 5th: Chris Eccelston, 13th: Daniel MacVicar, 15th: Kenny MacLeod, 17th: I MacColl.

Leading visiting team – prize £60, sponsored by James Smith and Co (Connel) Ltd: Munro’s Garage, 89 points, Calum Munro £15, Paul Walton £15, Cameron Munro £15, Richard Bergrant £15.

Coloured ball competition – prize £60, sponsored by Scottish Sea Farms Ltd: Oban Memorials, 59 points, Alistair MacLean £15, Dougie MacIntyre £15, Graham MacColl £15, Innes MacColl £15.

Third team prize – Bank of Scotland Trophy and £100, sponsored by MacQueen Bros: Stuart Livingstone Joiners, 91 points, Nigel Evans £25, Ian Hay £25, Nigel Campbell £25, Billy Wotherspoon £25.

Second team prize – PDK Shellfish Ltd Trophy and £120, sponsored by PDK Shellfish Ltd: D&A Munn Ltd, 92 points, R Ian MacInnes £30, William Gemmell £30, Neil Innes £30, Paul Kersley £30.

First team prize – The Oban Times Trophy and £200, sponsored by The Oban Times: Oban Camanachd C, 93 points, Scott MacMillan £50, Niall MacFarlane £50, Edward Swift £50, Danny MacVicar £50.