Campbeltown’s Crinan Puffer winner

Winner of the men's race, Stuart McGeachy of Campbeltown Running Club pounds out the miles on the canal towpath. 

Want to read more?

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?


Problems logging in and require
technical support? Click here
Subscribe Now

A delighted Stuart McGeachy went one better than his 2017 second place as he won the Scottish Sea Farms Crinan Puffer race in damp conditions.

The Campbeltown Running Club athlete was one of many who made the journey from Kintyre to support the event – billed as one of Scotland’s friendliest and most inclusive running events.

In the ladies race, Taynuilt’s Ailsa Lopez surprised herself with an impressive first place.

The Scottish Sea Farms Crinan Puffer Road Race took place last Sunday with more than 90 runners from as far away as Glasgow pounding the Crinan canal towpath and roads of Mid Argyll.

The race is organised by MACPool and is sponsored by Scottish Sea Farms Heart of the Community Trust. It is also supported by Mid Argyll businesses including the Co-op, Midton Acrylics and the Sweetie Jar.


Overall and senior male: 1 Stuart McGeachy 46:09 Campbeltown Running Club (CRC); 2 Garry Muir 46:30 CRC; 3 Alistair Andrew 51:07 Parnie Street Runners. Female overall and senior female: 1 Ailsa Lopez 1:00:46, 2 Sarah McFadzean 1:02:31 CRC; 3 overall and 2 senior female: Elaine McGeachy 1:02:31 CRC. Senior female: 3 Laura Thomson  66:50. Veteran Male: 1 Darren Renton 57:06 CRC; 2 Alan Reid 59:42 CRC; 3 Fraser Munro 63:38 Sara Harriers. Veteran Female: 1 Sarah McFadzean 57:06 CRC; 2 Morag Neilson  59:42  Jog Scotland; 3 Rebecca Fulton. Super Veteran Male: 1 William Dickson 51:52; 2 Alan Cockburn  55:31 PH Running Club; 3 Clem Clement  57:20 Springburn Harriers. Super Veteran Female:1 Jean Mclennan 67:40  Dunoon Hill Runners; 2 Sheila Ravenhill 79:01; 3 Sheila Ireland 80:58 Dunoon Hill Runners. Vintage Male: 1 Andy Law 53:18 Victoria Park City of Glasgow AC; 2 Ross Robb 67:49; 3 Gordon Wilson 68:14. Vintage Female : 1 Phylis Hands 66:48 Motherwell AC; 2 Margaret Sinclair 72:44 CRC; 3 Doreen Henderson 73:23