Thistle win indoor title after tense shootout

INDOOR LEAGUE WINNERS 8/4/18 BACK ROW Alan love,Dave Forbes,Callum Boyd,Darren Quigg, Neil Cameron, Andy Martin, (FRONT ROW) Darren Duncan, Martyn Cameron, Lewis Birrell and Stevie stewart. PICTURE IAIN FERGUSON, THE WRITE IMAGE

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

The indoor winter football came to a dramatic conclusion on Sunday night at the Nevis Centre after a penalty shootout was needed to decide this year’s title winners.

Doghouse Thistle were crowned champions of Sammy’s Indoor Winter League after a nail-biting penalty shootout against title rivals Fiorentina Turner.

With both team joint top of the league on 60 points after 21 rounds of fixtures this winter, league organisers setup a winner-takes-all final for the league title.

After the match ended in a 2-2 draw, Thistle held their nerve to score two out of their three penalties, making Fiorentina pay for their missed spot-kicks.

Winning captain and the league’s top scorer, Dave Forbes, was presented with the trophy by league organiser Bobby MacMillan on behalf of sponsor Sammy Cameron.

Top goal scorer for the season and Thistle captain, Dave Forbes. IF F15 Indoor Foot 02. Photo: Iain Ferguson, the Write Image.

This was a fitting finish to an exciting winter indoor league which this year saw 12 in action since October.

Bobby MacMillan, said: ‘Cheers to all the other teams that stuck it out to the end as well to allow the league to finish. Well done Dave Forbes on top scorer again and for helping out with league tables.

‘Thanks again to Stirling Cairns for taking the thankless task of refereeing and to Sammy for sponsoring and Nevis Centre for the hall. Well done all, maybe see you next year!’