Oban Otters’ small pool gala and club championship

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish)

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Oban Otters held their small pool gala on Thursday November 30 in the town’s Atlantis Leisure Centre.

It was lots of fun, with Innes Russell the overall winner.

Isla MacLean, Callie Dunn, Dylan Welsh, Seoras Neil, Ally Campbell, Laila Lopez, Donald Hodge, Kara Scott and Laina McHardy also took part in the small pool gala.

The club championships were held on December 3.
There was some fantastic swimming and some well-contested races, especially in the Squad Girls 13 years category, with Jordan MacIntyre winning the 100m freestyle in 1:18.34 and Rowan Drummond coming a close second with a time of 1:18.39.

The 9/10year-old-age group, both boys and girls, was also well-contested, with some close races.

Overall it was a fantastic day with some superb swimming on show.
Trophy winners: MacLean Cup: Girls 8 and under – Charlotte Moreland; MacKay Cup: Boys 8 and under – Finn MacKechnie; Spence Shield: Girls 9/10 years – Molly Gilchrist; Hutchison Cup: Boys 9/10 years – George Pagan; Acnacreebeag Trophy: Girls 11 years and over – Lauren Gibson; Larchfield Trophy: Boys 11 years and over – Alex MacPherson.

Squad Trophy winners: McCracken Cup – Boys 10 years – Kai MacKechnie; Tyndrum Cup: Girls 11 years – Tayler Robinson; Bank of Scotland: Boys 11 years – Ewan Dowd; Intermediate Shield: Girls 12 years – Jessica Main and Edie Elliott; Iona Shop Cup: Boys 12 years – Andrew Boyle; Gateway Cup: Girls 13 years – Jordan MacIntyre; Hannah’s Shield: Boys 13 years – Callum MacInnes; Forteith Cup: Girls 14 years and over – Ella MacKechnie; Hunter Cup: Boys 14 years and over – Sam Coates; Beaver Timber shield: Senior girls – Ella MacKechnie; Beaver Timber shield: Senior boys – Sam Coates.