Dingwall win the Lovat and Tullibardine Shield for the 13th time

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish)

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

The coveted Lovat and Tullibardine Shield was won by Dingwall Gaelic Choir for the second year running.

The choir, which was formed in 1954, is currently led by conductor Kirsteen Menzies, who received the Malcolm G MacCallum Silver Baton, which is awarded to the winning conductor.

The choir were also awarded the Donald Thomson Memorial Quaich and The Weekly Scotsman Quaich for achieving the highest marks in Gaelic, as well as the Donald J MacAskill Memorial Trophy.

They also took home the Oban Times Silver Salver for accumulating the highest marks in music.

This is the 13th time the group has won the Lovat and Tullibardine Shield. They first won the competition in 1913 and it took 64-years before they etched their name onto the silverware again – in 1977.

However, in recent times they have been the choir to beat, winning the prestigious competition six times in the last 10-years.

Before heading back to Dingwall with a handful of trophies, they posted on social media, saying: ‘Celebrations are ongoing and the Cèilidh air a’ bhus has commenced.

‘Thanks to everyone for all the kind words of congratulations. Mar sin leibh Mòd Lochaber 2017.’