New AITC chairman announced

Want to read more?

At the start of the pandemic in March we took the decision to make online access to our news free of charge by taking down our paywall. At a time where accurate information about Covid-19 was vital to our community, this was the right decision – even though it meant a drop in our income. In order to help safeguard the future of our journalism, the time has now come to reinstate our paywall, However, rest assured that access to all Covid related news will still remain free.

To access all other news will require a subscription, as it did pre-pandemic. The good news is that for the whole of December we will be running a special discounted offer to get 3 months access for the price of one month. Thank you for supporting us during this incredibly challenging time.

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Inveraray Castle was the venue for Argyll and the Isles Tourism Co-operative’s (AITC) annual general meeting (Friday September 8), which saw a change of leadership at the top of the organisation.

Inveraray Jail’s governor, Gavin Dick stood down as chairman and Loch Melfort Hotel’s Calum Ross stepped up from his role as vice chairman to take over the role. Mr Ross will be joined by Portavadie’s Iain Jurgensen, who fills the vice chairman position.

Mr Ross thanked Mr Dick for his leadership over the last three years saying: ‘Both Gavin and I are founding directors of AITC and it is no exaggeration to say he has worked tirelessly for tourism in Argyll and the Isles and, while he has stood down as chairman, I am delighted to say he remains on our board. Gavin’s knowledge and dedication to the tourism industry have both played significant roles in making AITC the organisation it is today.

‘I am delighted to welcome Iain, one of the first co-opted directors to sit on our board, to the role of vice chair. Iain already chairs our World Host steering group and champions the skills agenda, and he will make an excellent vice chair.

‘Of course I am thrilled to be the new chair of this dynamic organisation and I’m looking forward to the challenge ahead during what is a very exciting time for tourism, both regionally and nationally.’

Speaking about his new role as vice chairman, Iain Jurgensen said: ‘I am delighted to take up this role. I have been a member of the AITC board for several years now and it just gets better and better.

‘The Wild About Argyll campaign has firmly cemented Argyll’s claim to be Scotland’s Adventure Coast and I’m proud to be part of the team delivering quality tourism campaigns on behalf of our members.’

Following the Best of the West festival in Inveraray, the team have hit the ground running and will now begin on delivering the key components of a project which focuses on adventure tourism, events and festivals as well as food and drink tourism.

Autumn will also see the team establishing new and exciting collaborations with neighbouring destination marketing organisations (DMOs). The high profile Wild About Argyll campaign continues apace and will act as the focus of AITC’s programme of mini autumn summits.

And, to top off an already busy season, the team is working to finalise plans for tourism day on November 7 during Argyll Tourism Week.

As of the 2017 AGM, the full AITC Board comprises:

Elected Directors

Calum Ross – Oban Lorn and the Isles Tourism Alliance

Gavin Dick – Cowal Marketing Group

Victoria Winters – Heart of Argyll Tourism Alliance

Niall Macalister Hall – Explore Kintyre and Gigha

Fiona McPhail – Kyles Marketing Group

Aidan Canavan – Visit Bute

Neal Goldsmith – Marketing Mull and Iona

Co-opted Directors

Cathy Craig – Entrepreneurial Scotland

Iain Jurgensen – Portavadie, Loch Fyne

Andy Roger – Cameron House, Loch Lomond

Honorary Chairperson

The Duchess of Argyll

For information on the work of AITC visit  or to follow the Wild About Argyll campaign visit uk  – you can also contact AITC at



Photo caption: AITC’s new leadership team, vice chairman Iain Jurgensen and chairman Calum Ross following the organisation’s AGM at Inveraray Castle.