Argyll and Lochaber firms up for awards

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish)

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Food and drink businesses from Argyll, Lochaber and Skye put on a good show in this year’s Food Awards Scotland finals, but there are virtually none from the Hebrides.

The awards ‘celebrate and reward the very best in the Scottish food industry’, the website says, and are voted for by the public.

Ee-usk in Oban and Loch Fyne Oysters face each other in the best seafood establishment category, Inverawe Smokehouses is up for the seafood supplier of the year, and JM Breckenridge is a finalist for the fresh produce provider of the year.

The Barn Bar in Lerags, The Drovers’ Inn by Loch Lomond, the Ben Nevis Inn and the Lord of the Isles in Lochgilphead are finalists for the gastro pub of the year, while Abbies Café in Oban are nominated for the café/bistro of the year.

Annabel Gregory is up for restaurant general manager of the year at Kilchrenan’s Ardanaiseig Hotel, which is also in the shortlist for hotel restaurant of the year alongside the Airds Hotel and Restaurant in Port Appin, Tarbert’s Stonefield Castle, the Falls of Lora in Connel, Manor House in Oban, and Restaurant at Duisdale in Isleornsay.

The finalists for the takeaway of the year category are the Waterfront Fish and Chip Shop and Takeaway in Broadford, Sammy’s Fish and Chip Shop in Fort William and the Oban Fish and Chip Shop.

Making the finals in the restaurant of the year category are the Laroch Restaurant and Bar in Ballachulish, the Waterside Seafood Restaurant in Lochalsh, the Stables Restaurant and Grill in Fort William and the Hawthorn Restaurant in Benderloch.

Prize-winners will be announced on August 14 at the awards ceremony in Glasgow.