Golf: annual Rotary tournament steps into 17th year of fundraising

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish)

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

The Rotary Club of Lochaber is gearing up to host its 17th annual Am-Am golf tournament later this month.
The event, which has so far raised £60,000 for Lochaber charities, will be held on Sunday May 28 at Fort William Golf Club.
The 18-hole course, nestled in the shadow of Ben Nevis, offers challenging golf and breathtaking views for visitors playing in the competition.
Rotary president Paula Ross said: ‘We are extremely grateful to our sponsors and to the golf club for allowing us to use their course for this annual competition.
‘It is a major fundraiser for our charity programme and enables us to support numerous good causes in Lochaber.
‘Once again we are particularly indebted to Lochaber salmon producer Marine Harvest for its substantial financial support.’
Teams of four play for the annual Rotary Trophy, with prizes on offer for both teams and individuals.
As well as prizes for the first three places, visitors, ladies and gents, prizes are also awarded for yellow ball, nearest the pin at four holes, and longest drive for males.
Entry costs £40 per team, and forms can be collected from James Duncan at the golf club on 01397 704464 or by email
Rotarian Alan Kirk can also be contacted about entry on at 01397 705607, email
All proceeds from the tournament will be donated to local charities and good causes.

On Saturday April 29, the 1912 Cup was played at Fort William Golf Club with the following result.
Winner: Nicholas Hough net 69 (78-9); runner-up: Scott Lawrie net 70 (77-7); third: Neil Feggans net 71 (81-10).
On Sunday April 30, a four-ball better ball competition was played with the following result.
Winners: Ian Robertson and Duncan Rodger 61; runners-up: Willie Duncan and Rusty Duncan 62 (BIH); third: Graeme Worsdall and Lewis Corbett 62.