Crofting Commission election nominees

Want to read more?

We value our content  and access to our full site is  only available on subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device In addition your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

NOMINATIONS have now closed for this year’s election to the Crofting Commission.
The names put forward for the different constituencies are as follows.
East Highlands (East Sutherland, Easter Ross, East Inverness and Moray): Rod Mackenzie, Teanroit, Beauly; Archie Macnab, Old Inn Croft, Blairninich, Ross-shire; John Ferme McMorran, Keepers House, Balnacoil, Brora, Sutherland.
South West Highlands (Lochaber, Argyll and Bute, Arran and Cumbrae, Small Isles): Ronnie Campbell, Bohuntin, Roy Bridge, Lochaber; Colin Niall Kennedy, Croft No2, Arinagour, Highland Corrie, Isle of Coll; Catherine MacKinnon, Cul a’Bhile, Bohuntin, Roy Bridge, Lochaber; Billy Neilson, Cruachan Cottages, Taynuilt; Uilleam Smith, Caledonian Road, Inverness.
Western Isles: Alasdair MacEachen, 15 Aird, Balivanich, Benbecula; Iain M MacIver, 23 Laxay, Isle of Lewis.
West Highlands (West Sutherland, Wester Ross, Skye and Lochalsh): Jonathan James Hedges, Rossal, Rogart; Stephen William Love, Sand Passage, Laide, Wester Ross; Mairi Mackenzie, Torran, Loggie, Lochbroom, Ullapool, Ross-shire; Peter O’Donnghaile (Donnelly), Camustianabhaig, Portree.
Ballot papers will be issued by post to all eligible electors in those constituencies and must be returned in the pre-paid envelope provided by 4pm on Thursday March 16.
There was only one nominee for the Caithness and Orkney constituency, Cyril Annal, from South Ronaldsay, and the Shetland constituency, Andy Holt, from Papa Stour, who are duly declared elected as no vote is required.