Inverlochy lift the silverware

Want to read more?

At the start of the pandemic in March we took the decision to make online access to our news free of charge by taking down our paywall. At a time where accurate information about Covid-19 was vital to our community, this was the right decision – even though it meant a drop in our income. In order to help safeguard the future of our journalism, the time has now come to reinstate our paywall, However, rest assured that access to all Covid related news will still remain free.

To access all other news will require a subscription, as it did pre-pandemic. The good news is that for the whole of December we will be running a special discounted offer to get 3 months access for the price of one month. Thank you for supporting us during this incredibly challenging time.

We value our content and access to our full site is only available with a  subscription. Your subscription entitles you to 7-day-a-week access to our website, plus a full digital copy of that week’s paper to read on your pc/mac or mobile device.  In addition, your subscription includes access to digital archive copies from 2006 onwards.

Just want to read one issue? No problem you can subscribe for just one week (or longer if you wish).

Already a subscriber?


Subscribe Now

Inverlochy Primary were the undisputed winners of this year’s Lochaber Area Shinty Tournament for P7s and under, retaining their title for another year.

They beat each of the other five teams in the round robin format tournament: Ardnamurchan, Ballachullish, Banavie, Bun Sgoil Ghaidhlig Loch Aber and Caol.

Caol Primary came second on the night, narrowly beating Ballachulish into third place.

High Life Highland’s Active Schools Coordinator, Bridget Thomas, who helped organise the event, said: ‘I was really impressed with the standard of play and sportsmanship. Some excellent shinty skills were on display from the youngsters from all the teams, which bodes well for the future of the sport in the area, and for Inverlochy’s chances at the National Finals which take place on February 25.

‘Massive thanks go to all of the schools coaches who give up their time week in week out to run school teams and especially to Colin MacCormack for refereeing on the night.’